Inspiration: Wood

by nacreouslights

Image

Lately I have been heading out into the woods surrounding Vienna as a little escape from the bustle of the city. I’ve started collecting interesting sticks and pieces of wood.

Something has always fascinated me about wood. The grain, the knots, the imperfection. I spent my summers in upstate Maine as a child, where we stayed in small cabins made primarily of wood. It felt so natural, so un-synthetic. This way of living has always been a fantasy of mine. I ache for simplicity, for a natural, real life. I love the imperfect look of wood that has not been overworked.

Having a variety of wood in your home can really connect you with the natural world, with the forest or the sea. It’s strong presence not only keeps you grounded, but also tells the stories of where it came.

Image

Image

Image

Image

