Inspiration: Light

by nacreouslights

In keeping with the name of the blog, light has recently been playing a large role in my life. We have been having the strangest weather in Vienna with sunny days and stormy evenings. Because of the constant threat of rain, everyone seems desperate to head outside into the sun, trying to soak up the light. I am personally not a winter person, so I, in the past few months, have metaphorically come out of hibernation and back into the light.

I have also been thinking a lot recently about light versus darkness in the human soul. I, as most people, have had my fair share of dark times. Darkness can swallow a person. To this theme I have been working on bringing light into my life. I have changed the way I see things, attempting to look on the sunnier side of life. I removed my dark, heavier curtains from my windows, allowing more natural light into my apartment. I changed my light bulbs in order to have a brighter, warmer glow. Light is so beneficial for optimism, so when darkness has seemed to fill your life, allow yourself to let a little light in.

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that” -Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

