De-stress

by nacreouslights

-2

Over the next couple weeks, I will be composing some holiday themed posts to aid and abet during this choatic season, but to start, i want to give you a chance to relax. If you’re anything like me, gift giving can be extremely fun. I plan months in advance to give each and every one of my loves something they will love. This, however, does not come without its fair share of stress. I tend to get riled up easily, which I try to combat with regular meditation and practice, which brings us to our first de-stressing method

tumblr_mefbqtz4xh1rkvnlpo1_500

Just Breathe

I wrote a post a couple months ago on the importance of breath. Whenever I feel like my stress level is rising or my mind is moving too fast, I take a moment to myself to do a couple breathing exercises. It always amazes me how something so simple as breathing can center and relax me so quickly and easily. My favorite exercise is to breathe slowly and deeply through my nose while envisioning positive warm energy entering my body with every breath in and negative cold energy exiting with every breath out. It’s also important to meditate regularly as a sort of prevention method. With regular meditation, I find that things that would have sent me into an anxiety attack before don’t even faze me now.

Lavender
Lavender

I am obsessed with lavender. Its de-stressing and relaxing aroma-therapeutic qualities have helped me on multiple occasions. I try to use a least one lavender scented product every day. There are so many ways to use lavender to de-stress but my absolute favorite is to give myself and lavender steam bath. I fill a bowl with boiling water  a brew dried lavender (you can find lavender tea in many health stores) for about 7 minutes. After making sure it’s not too hot, I drape a towel over my head and put my face into the bowl. The steam opens your pours and the lavender scent relaxes you, leaving you relaxed and beautiful. I also adore Dr. Bronner’s lavender liquid soap. I use it for everything.

-1

Take a day off

Or even just a couple hours. How often to you give yourself time to yourself? For most of us it’s a pretty rare occurrence. Somehow we are always finding something to do. Look at your schedule and see what really needs to be done. If you go through and pick out the excess, you’d be amazed at how much time seems to open up right before your eyes. Use this time to do whatever relaxes you the best. A hot bath, a good book, and a glass of my favorite red wine do wonders for me.

How do you like to relax?

